“What is the main difference between vegan and vegetarian?”

For anyone who is unfamiliar with the field of plant-based diet routines, this is certainly the initial question anyone asks.

Nearly every diet-with meat or no meat can vary for each person, so there’s no set-in-stone criteria for this.

A basic concept, though, is the fact that all vegans are basically vegetarian but not the other way around. For many, being a vegetarian may be a the initial step to veganism.

For some, the vegan way of dieting shows a restricted and more conservative vegetarian diet.

Everyone’s experience differs, and typically, not everybody concurs from what precisely makes a person a vegan or  a vegetarian.

Topic Summary:

Difference between Vegetarian and Vegan
Difference between Ovo and Lacto Vegetarian
Other Types of Vegetarian?


Please read on to find out more regarding veganism and vegetarianism.


Being a Vegetarian or “Vegetarianism” is a fundamental terminology for somebody who does not eat animal meat.

A few take dairy products as well as , eggs, while some avoid one or each of these meal types altogether.

Essentially, a common vegetarian is someone who eats a veggie burger for dinner and a chocolate shake for dessert.

During food preparation, no animals had been killed, although there are milk or egg on the food.

This will become much more sophisticated as you consider different sub-groups like pescatarians. These are basically people that consume fish yet no other animal meat.

A pescatarian generally sticks to those dietary limitations for health purposes, rather than ethical factors.

However there are also pescatarians who have choose the dietary plan based upon ethical preference.

Vegetarianism have been applied for several decades. Many are vegetarian for the purpose of religious restrictions.  While some people observe their diet for ethical reasons. Others just feel that it can be a healthier and stronger lifestyle.

Provided one consumes the required vitamins through one’s vegetarian food plan, vegetarianism would not induce any health issues.

Some individuals think that the text “vegetarian” and “vegan” have a similar meaning, however they usually do not.

Vegetarian is a wider terminology which usually includes a number of different diet plans.  Vegans consume a particular form of diet and sometimes avoid any kind of animal products in their lifestyle.

difference between vegan and vegetarian
Vegetable Salad with Egg

What is Lacto Vegetarians or Ovo-Lacto Vegetarians?

Lacto vegetarians include a similar diet concepts as vegans, except for they may drink or eat dairy food.
A lacto-vegetarian is a person who practices a vegetarian diet and drinks milk, yet basically no egg products. The same as ovo-vegetarians, eating egg but not milk or diary product.

Ovo-Lacto vegetarians are similar to the to lacto vegetarians, but they eat eggs and consume egg products.

The two diet groups might prevent using of materials that are made of animal products.

Ovo lacto vegetarian can be described as one who would not consume the meat of animals, yet will eat animal products, usually milk, eggs, cheese.

Ovo-lacto-vegetarians are viewed as the biggest group of vegetarians.

The addition of milk and eggs enables these kinds of vegetarians to get a lot of the essential nutrients.

What are the Other Types of Vegetarians

Generally there are some various groups which usually identify their diet preferences with vegetarianism.

Pescetarians, for instance, eat similar to foods like a vegetarian diet, however they consume fish also.

Fruitarians consume a plant-based or follows a vegan diet, but they omit food products which usually kill the plant during harvesting.

Which Kind of Vegetarian Diet plan is better?

The ideal kind of vegetarian dieting depends upon your specific reasons with respect to becoming a vegetarian.

Individuals who are vegetarians mainly because they would like to stop animal cruelty generally choose a vegan diet.

Those that merely ought to prevent promoting factory farming methods generally turn into being pesectarians.

For those who would like to prevent health problems by eating animal meat could become lacto or perhaps ovo-lacto vegetarians.

Semi-vegetarian (Flexitarians)
The concept of a “semi-vegetarian” can be identified as ones that are basically vegetarian, but occasionally eats meat products.

Sometimes, a semi-vegetarian will simply avoid consuming a particular kind of animal meat instead of all animal products or meat.

A good example will be an one who prefers to consume seafood and chicken, yet refrains from consuming any kind of animal products just like pork or perhaps beef.

Since the addition of meats within their diet plan negates the entire idea of an all-vegetable life-style, semi-vegetarians are often known as “flexitarians.”


Being a Vegan or “Veganism” is considerably more restrictive: no dairy, no meat, no fish, and no eggs.  This means that none of their diets or the things they use are produced from an animal creature.

Vegans obtain their proteins out of vegetable, soy and various resources. There is lesser options here. Also, there have been a few bafflement about the vegan life-style compared to having a vegan diet.

Having a “vegan life-style” can be an ethical initiative by refraining from all of the animal-based goods which might have lead with injury or killing of animals.

Put simply, dispose of the fur, leather as well as any sort of cosmetics which may had been tested using animals.


Vegan diet,” however, is precisely what you think it is: avoid the animal meat or animal-based foods, though retain the use of fashionable leather boots and furs.

Vegans usually do not consume any kind of animal meat, or do they eat animal by-products like for example milk and eggs.

The majority of vegans will not also consume honey, and many will not consume yeast goods.

Living style features consist of not using any kind of animal by-product, which includes wool or silk, not applying creams or perhaps other products and solutions which have contents that come from animals.

These kinds of preferences are established by the Vegan Society and communities.

Individual vegans might follow these to the dot. However the theory is usually to prevent eating as well as utilizing most things that can lead to killing animals.

People who abide by following a firm vegan diet yet aren’t worried about nonfood usages of animal by-products are known as dietary vegans.

Several believe a raw vegan diet, by which vegetable foods are not prepared over 115 deg F, is a healthy diet for human beings.

There is certainly a few controversy surrounding the subject matter, however in all circumstance it will be possible to consume raw vegan diet but still acquire the nutrients and vitamins we require in our diets.


Veganism is basically a sub-group of vegetarianism. Because of the tough preferences with their diet plans, they’re also occasionally known as “strict vegetarians”.

The main difference among vegetarians and vegans is usually that vegetarians might consume food products which can be not allowed in the vegan diet.

Individuals not familiar with the lingo “vegan” or “vegetarian” have now perhaps regarded the main difference among these two.
Are these not both the same, by way of a shared connotation to a individual who doesn’t consume any sort of animal meat? Not precisely.

The terminology of “vegan” is in fact one of the sub-groups that is categorized within vegetarian.

Although both vegetarians and vegans stay away from consuming any kind of meat, vegans adhere to more conservative lifestyle.

This is as opposed to their vegetarian peers. Within a vegetarian diet, the diets permits to consume animal bi-products like cheese, milk and eggs.

Vegans, on the other hand, don’t consume any animal products, or do they utilize any goods made by animals in most cases.

For instance, vegans tend not to use any kind of garments that came from animals just like fur, wool, leather.

In some instances, vegans goes as much as staying away from using or eating honey or yeast on the strict diet plan.


If you are contemplating on these diet programs, reflect on what type is suitable without any health concerns.

Generally, vegetarians, such as the other sub-groups of vegans, are simply as healthful like non vegetarians.

Even so, a diet that is missing one of the essential nutrients that are available from fish, meat, and chicken.

It would require an adequate amount of health supplements.

difference between vegan and vegetarian_1
Fresh Vegetables

There are numerous factors any person might select this stringent lifestyle and diet in a vegan.  This is free from any kind of animal bi-products in one’s lifestyle.

Some individuals prefer to get vegans to have healthy life, several with respect to the environmental cause.

Others with respect to solely ethical purposes just like the treatment and preservation among animals.


Food products which contain a similar nourishment like the ones present in animal goods consist of:

  • Peanuts
  • Walnuts
  • Beans
  • Apples
  • Soy and soy milk
  • Dark green vegetables
  • Whole wheat grains
  • Oranges
  • Bananas

Health and Well-being Considerations

Generally there are some health concerns with vegetarians or vegans diets, which includes the lacks of nutrients.

Nevertheless, research show that there are not really a huge difference among the healthiness of non vegetarians and vegetarians alike.

Actually, a number of research have demonstrated the fact that vegetarians are healthier when compared to non vegetarians.

This is due to lesser degrees of obesity, decreased cholesterol, and a lowered possibility of heart problems.

All these studies are actually related to the more vegetable and plant-based diets, fiber rich foods.

Health considerations around an all-vegetable diet, point out an absence of nutrients commonly produced by animal meat.

These types of vitamins and nutrients consist of:

  • Magnesium
  • Folic acid
  • Omega-3 fatty acids
  • Vitamin B12
  • Zinc
  • Vitamin E
  • Iron
  • Calcium

An inadequately organized vegetarian diet which lack the quantity of those nutritional vitamins may bring health issues.

Final conclusion

Theoretically speaking, vegans fall within the category of vegetarians, however they are certainly not the same.

The primary differentiation among vegans and any other groups of vegetarians are actually their particular personal preferences.

Take into account of what precisely the good diet plan and life-style is suitable for you.

Keep in mind to effectively prepare your foods to assure a sufficient source of the required vitamins for good health.

Your Personal thoughts on  the difference between vegan and vegetarian.  Please share your comments below.

Keep in mind to effectively prepare your foods to assure a sufficient source of the required vitamins for good health.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.